Board of Directors

The Petra National Trust is managed by a Board of Trustees elected for a three-year term. Her Majesty Queen Noor Al Hussein is the Patron and Chairperson of the Trust. PNT is registered as a non-governmental organization (non-profit) under the laws of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan.
Board Members
  • HRH Princess Dana Firas (President)

HRH Princess Dana Firas ( Dana Nabil; née Toukan; born 27 October 1970) is the wife of Prince Firas bin Raad. She serves as the President of Petra National Trust and is a liaison with the The Royal Hashemite Court and Jordanian government ministries.

She worked in the office of H.M. Queen Noor of Jordan on projects promoting sustainable development, peace, and human rights. Since 2008, Princess Dana has chaired the Board of the Petra National Foundation. She was named a UNESCO Goodwill ambassador in June 2017 by the UNESCO Director-General Irina Bokova. Her advocacy for the cause of cultural heritage preservation and awareness resulted in their inclusion in two World Tourism Organization declarations. In 2016 she joined the Board of the Fulbright Commission in Jordan.

She earned a BA in International Relations and Economics from Boston University, a MSc in International Development from the London School of Economics, and an MPA in Public Policy and Development from Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government, where she was a Fulbright scholar.

In 2003, Princess Dana co-authored an article entitled “From the Environment and Human Security to Sustainable Security and Development” in the Journal of Human Development and Capabilities. In 2006, she authored an article for the 2007 State of the World Report and participated in the launch of the report in Washington DC. In 2012, she contributed to a publication entitled “Tourism and Archaeological Heritage Management at Petra: Driver to Development or Destruction.”

She has two daughters, Safa (born 2001) and Haya (born 2003), and one son, Hashem (born 2010).

  • Mr. Yassin Talhouni (Vice President)
  • Dr. May Al-Shaer (Secretary)
  • Mrs. Andrea Atalla (Treasurer)
  • HE Dr. Khaled Irani
  • Eng. Sahel Hiyari
  • Bassima Abu Jaber
Mr Abdullah Abu Rumman (Executive Director)
FASHEH 1975 Auditors and Consultants (Auditors)